## THE 21ST REGULAR CONVENTION OF THE MID-SOUTH DISTRICT OF THE LUTHERAN CHURCH--MISSOURI SYNOD JULY 1-3, 2021

#### THE CONVENTION THEME

"Declare His Marvelous Works"



# THE CONVENTION PROGRAM

Synodical Representatives: The Reverend Dr. Matthew Harrison

President

The Lutheran Church--Missouri Synod

The Reverend Peter Lange

First Vice-President

The Lutheran Church--Missouri Synod

The Reverend Benjamin Ball

Sixth Vice-President – Central Region The Lutheran Church--Missouri Synod

**Opening Service of Holy Communion:** 

Thursday, July 1, 2021 at 7:30 p.m. Christ the King Lutheran Church

Memphis, Tennessee

The Rev. Matthew Harrison, Preacher

#### **PRE-CONVENTION ACTIVITIES**

### Thursday, July 1, 2021

9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. Floor Committee Meetings

**11:30 a.m. – 3:00 p.m. REGISTRATION -** Atrium

11:30 a.m. − 2:30 p.m. Open Hearings by Floor Committees

• Church and Doctrine – Promenade 1

• Church Missions and Evangelism – Promenade 2

• Church and Social Concerns – Tennessee D

11:00 a.m. Exhibits Open (Tennessee Grand Foyer)

"Declare His Marvelous Works" THURSDAY, JULY 1, 2021 FIRST CONVENTION SESSION

## Chaplain for the Day: The Reverend Craig G. Muehler

2:50 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Seating and Singing – *Mr. Charles Russell* 

3:00 p.m. – 3:15 p.m. Opening Devotion - *Rev. Craig Muehler* 

3:15 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Welcome, Introductions - *The Reverend Dr. Roger Paavola* 

• Rev. Matthew Harrison, LCMS President

• Rev. Peter Lange, LCMS, 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President

• Rev. Benjamin Ball, LCMS, Central Region Vice President

3:30 p.m. Voting Orientation – *Mrs. Angela Fowler* 

3:35 p.m. – 3:45 p.m. Credentials, Rules and Program

• Credentials Report – Secretary John Gierke

• Vote to Adopt the Credentials Report – President Paavola

• Read Standing Rules – President Paavola

• Vote to Adopt Standing Rules – President Paavola

• Vote to Adopt Program/Agenda as Printed

• Announcement of New Congregations Received into Synodical Membership

Reception of New Ordained and Commissioned Ministers

3:45 p.m. – 3:55 p.m. Greetings from Ministry Partners

• LWML

• Trinity HOPE

• International Lutheran Council

• Ministry of the Armed Forces

• Thrivent Financial

• Alliance Defending Freedom

Rev. Jesus Granado

3:55 p.m. – 4:05 p.m.	<ul> <li>Greetings from District Presidents Emeriti</li> <li>Rev. Norman Groteluschen</li> <li>Rev. David Callies</li> <li>Rev. Kenneth Lampe</li> </ul>
4:00 p.m. – 4:55 p.m.	President's Report  District President Roger Paavola
4:55 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.	Lutheran Church Extension Fund Greetings <i>The Reverend Bart Day</i> President
5:15 p.m. – 5:20 p.m.	Announcements – Mrs. Angela Fowler Closing Prayer – Rev. Craig Muehler
5:45 p.m. – 7:15 p.m.	Dinner at Christ the King, Memphis provided by LCEF/Mid-South District (Bus Transportation to Christ the King will be provided; buses will load at Hilton front entrance)
7:30 p.m.	Opening Service – Christ the King Lutheran Church 5296 Park Avenue, Memphis, TN Sermon: The Reverend Dr. Matthew Harrison

## "Declare His Marvelous Works" FRIDAY, JULY 2, 2021 SECOND CONVENTION SESSION

# Chaplain for the Day: The Reverend Dr. Leroy Leach

## **Friday, July 2, 2021**

6:30 a.m. – 7:45 a.m.	Breakfast (Southeast Ballroom)
6:30 a.m. – 8:00 a.m.	Registration Continues
7:45 a.m. – 8:00 a.m.	Seating and Singing – Mr. Charles Russell
8:00 a.m. – 8:20 a.m.	Opening Devotion – Rev. Leroy Leach
8:20 a.m. – 8:30 a.m.	Final Report of Credentials and Registration – Secretary Gierke
8:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.	<ul> <li>Candidates for District President</li> <li>The Reverend Dr. Roger Paavola</li> <li>The Reverend Lane Reuter</li> </ul>
9:00 a.m 9:30 a.m.	Elections – Rev. Robert Portier, Chair
9:30 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.	Floor Committee Business

10:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m.	Break
10:15 a.m. – 10:20 a.m.	Seating and Singing – Mr. Charles Russell
10:20 a.m. – 11:20 a.m.	LCMS President's Report (and video)  The Reverend Dr. Matthew Harrison
11:20 a.m. – 11:50 a.m.	Q&A with President Matthew Harrison
11:50 a.m. – 11:55 a.m.	Announcements – Mrs. Angela Fowler Meal Prayer – Rev. Leroy Leach
11:55 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.	Lunch – Southeast Ballroom Current Board of Directors' Luncheon – Directors 3 Pastor's Wives Luncheon – Directors 6

## "Declare His Marvelous Works" FRIDAY, JULY 2, 2021 THIRD CONVENTION SESSION

## Friday, July 2, 2021 - Continued

1:00 p.m. – 1:10 p.m.		Seating and Singing – M	r. Charles Russell
1:10 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.		Bishop Emmanuel Makala (video presentation) Southeast of Lake Victoria Diocese, Tanzania	
1:30 p.m. – 3:15 p.m.		Floor Committee Busines	ss
3:15 p.m. – 3:35 p.m.		Break	
3:35 p.m. – 3:40 p.m.		Seating and Singing – M	r. Charles Russell
3:40 p.m 4:10 p.m.		Floor Committee Busines	ss
4:10 p.m. – 4:20 p.m.		Announcements – <i>Mrs.</i> A Closing Prayer – <i>Rev. Le</i>	9
4:20 p.m.		Orientation and Dismissal to Circuit Caucuse President Roger Paavola	
	0 0 0	Visitation Circuit Caucus Chattanooga Fayetteville Fort Smith/Stuttgart Jonesboro Knoxville/Johnson City Little Rock North Little Rock South Memphis Middle Tennessee Nashville Paducah Advisory (Commissioned and Emer	Ballroom (Right Front) Ballroom (Left Front) Ballroom (Left Rear) Ballroom (Right Rear) Tennessee D Tennessee E Promenade 1 Promenade 2 Directors 3 Directors 4 Directors 5 Directors 6

Dinner on your own

## "Declare His Marvelous Works" SATURDAY, JULY 3, 2021 FOURTH CONVENTION SESSION

## Chaplain for the Day: The Reverend Russell Belisle

## Saturday, July 3, 2021

6:30 a.m. – 7:45 a.m.	Breakfast
-----------------------	-----------

7:45 a.m. 
$$-8:00$$
 a.m. Seating and Singing  $-$  *Mr. Charles Russell*

LIME Institute, Malagasy Lutheran Church, Madagascar

Lunch Prayer – Rev. Russell Belisle

11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. Lunch

"Declare His Marvelous Works" SATURDAY, JULY 3, 2021 FIFTH CONVENTION SESSION

#### Saturday, July 3, 2021 – Continued

1:00  p.m. - 1:10  p.m.	Seating and Singing – <i>Mr</i> .	Charles Russell
-------------------------	-----------------------------------	-----------------

President Matthew Harrison

Photos of Newly Elected Groups and Individuals
District President

- Regional Vice Presidents
- Board of Directors
- Nominations Committee
- Circuit Visitors